Governance » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Board President:  Gina Steffens Lubno

Gina Steffens serves as General Counsel and the head of the Legal Department for Real Capital Solutions. Gina joined Real Capital Solutions in 2022, with nearly 20 years of experience in complex real estate transactions as a private law firm attorney and as in-house counsel for both publicly traded and privately held companies. Gina also brings to RCS over 10 years of supervisory experience and is not only a skilled manager, but a motivating leader with the vision and proven track record of building and motivating highly valued and exceptionally driven teams. Gina's agility, solution-oriented approach and big picture thinking make her a sought-after strategic partner to company leadership. Gina's background also includes supporting complex multi-jurisdictional operations and regulatory compliance for companies in varying industries outside of real estate, adding to her well-rounded, economics-driven and business-oriented approach.

Board Vice President: Michael Deru
Michael Deru is the Group Manager for the Communities and Urban Sciences Research Group at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. He conducts a broad range of research in commercial buildings and communities including starting the U.S. Life Cycle Inventory database, developing energy and carbon models for buildings, development and validation of energy efficiency technologies across all building systems, and leading large scale deployment programs for new building technologies. Dr. Deru has a PhD and MS in Mechanical Engineering from Colorado State University.
Board Treasurer: Pieter Leenhouts

​​Pieter's professional experience and educational background have provided deep experience in strategic planning, contracts/legal matters, and communications. He has a strong understanding of and interest in K-12 education through my professional and personal experiences and interests. He served as a long-term board member and two year board chair of, a non-profit focused on quality teaching. In that capacity, he has experience in developing strategic plans, running meetings, and chairing committees. He served as the Executive Director for the Aurora Public Schools Foundation, where he focused on building a strong and engaged board. He has also volunteered for a variety of non-profit organizations including the Daniels Fund and the DPS Foundation.

Board Secretary: Amanda Burma

Amanda has 24 years experience selling and architecting complex solutions in competitive fast-moving markets. As a trusted industry advisor, she engages teams to understand their needs and successfully implement technologies. Prior to joining Appvance, Amanda held roles in Sales Engineering, Project and Product Management. Amanda earned a Masters in Computer Information Systems from the University of Phoenix.

Board Member At Large: John Cordial

Jon has experience managing the Membership and Marketing Department for a non-profit organization, and as Membership and Marketing Director, he ran monthly committee meetings, set agendas, and aligned committee goals with strategic goals of the organization.